Employees / employers

Withholding tax for employees / employers

In accordance with the OWT I (Ordinance on Withholding Tax for foreign employees of 2 February 1994) the following persons shall be subject to withholding tax for salaried incomes with a Swiss employer as well as for any substitute income for temporarily restricted or interrupted gainful employment:    

  • Foreign employees living in Switzerland and who neither possess a permanent residence permit C nor are married to a person with a residence permit C or Swiss citizenship;
  • Employees living abroad who pursue gainful employment in Switzerland as international commuters or weekly residents or who work as employees in the field of international transport for a Swiss enterprise.

The person owing the taxable performance (employer, insurer) is required to settle the withholding tax owed periodically (in general every month) with the Cantonal Tax Office Zürich, Withholding Tax Service.

Please refer to the following rubrics to more helpful informations:

Travailleurs / employeurs

Impôt à la source pour les travailleurs

Conformément à la QVO I (ordonnance du 2 février 1994 sur l'impôt à la source pour les travailleurs étrangers), les personnes soumises à l'impôt à la source sur leurs revenus salariaux obtenus auprès d'un employeur suisse ainsi que sur leurs revenus de remplacement en raison d'une activité lucrative temporairement limitée et/ou interrompue sont les suivantes :

  • les travailleurs étrangers domiciliés en Suisse, qui ne sont ni titulaires d'une autorisation d'établissement C, ni mariés avec une personne possédant une autorisation d'établissement C ou le droit de cité suisse ;
  • les travailleurs domiciliés à l'étranger, qui exercent une activité lucrative en Suisse en tant que frontaliers et/ou dans le cadre de séjours hebdomadaires ou qui travaillent pour une entreprise suisse dans le cadre d'échanges internationaux.

Le débiteur de la prestation imposable (employeur, assureur) a l'obligation de retenir périodiquement l'impôt à la source dû (en règle générale tous les mois) pour le reverser à l'Administration fiscale cantonale de Zurich, service Impôt à la source.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations dans les notices suivantes: