Employees / employers

Withholding tax for employees / employers

In accordance with the OWT I (Ordinance on Withholding Tax for foreign employees of 2 February 1994) the following persons shall be subject to withholding tax for salaried incomes with a Swiss employer as well as for any substitute income for temporarily restricted or interrupted gainful employment:    

  • Foreign employees living in Switzerland and who neither possess a permanent residence permit C nor are married to a person with a residence permit C or Swiss citizenship;
  • Employees living abroad who pursue gainful employment in Switzerland as international commuters or weekly residents or who work as employees in the field of international transport for a Swiss enterprise.

The person owing the taxable performance (employer, insurer) is required to settle the withholding tax owed periodically (in general every month) with the Cantonal Tax Office Zürich, Withholding Tax Service.

Please refer to the following rubrics to more helpful informations:

Arbeitnehmende / Arbeitgebende

Quellensteuer für Arbeitnehmende

Gemäss QVO I (Verordnung über die Quellensteuer für ausländische Arbeitnehmer vom 2. Februar 1994) sind folgende Personen für ihr Lohneinkommen, das sie bei einem schweizerischen Arbeitgebenden erzielen, sowie für ihr Ersatzeinkommen zufolge einer vorübergehend unterbrochenen bzw. eingeschränkten Erwerbstätigkeit quellensteuerpflichtig:

  • Ausländische Arbeitnehmende mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz, die weder die Niederlassungsbewilligung C besitzen noch mit Personen verheiratet sind, die die Niederlassungsbewilligung C oder das Schweizer Bürgerrecht haben;
  • Arbeitnehmende mit Wohnsitz im Ausland, die als Grenzgänger bzw. Wochenaufenthalter in der Schweiz einer Erwerbstätigkeit nachgehen oder die im internationalen Verkehr bei einer schweizerischen Unternehmung angestellt sind.

Der Schuldner der steuerbaren Leistung (Arbeitgebender, Versicherer) hat die geschuldete Quellensteuer periodisch (i.d.R. monatlich) mit dem kantonalen Steueramt Zürich, Dienstabteilung Quellensteuer, abzurechnen.

Unter nachfolgenden Rubriken stehen Ihnen weitere Informationen zur Verfügung: